The Office Building

In 1834, the official town of Marine was laid out.  The land on which the Anderson Law Office is located was owned by George Welsh, a native of Virginia, who had relocated to the Illinois prairie. George opened a general store on Main street  (now called Duncan). The property changed hands several times until 1853. In that year Frederick Wentz purchased  a portion of the ground  for $700 and erected the Federal  red brick two story  structure that now houses the law firm.

Frederick was a prosperous merchant, originally owning a butcher shop.  By the 1870’s he owned and operated Wentz hardware (located on the corner of Duncan and Alton street  across from the public square).

Frederick’s new house  was up to date with the latest in heating..parlor stoves!  It also was built with large fir floor and ceiling joices, and heart pine tongue and groove flooring. It was 3 ‘wythe’ thick brick on a substantial stone foundation .  It was built to last. 415 North Duncan stands as one of the remaining oldest structures in Marine. During the renovation process of the  Wentz house by the Anderson family, efforts have been made to remain faithful  to the historical integrity of its’ original appearance.  The project is still ongoing.  The Andersons welcome any information, pictures, and suggestions as they complete the project!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Search this site

News & Events

11.28.10

Open house 4-8pm

09.12.10

Opening of Anderson Law Office